In default workflow configuration PRs are processed in 6 steps: originate (i.e. new), assign, investigate, resolve, verify and close -- with the investigate step being optional. This workflow configuration is intended for projects that need to be strictly monitored. Your project may not require as much control and it may be preferable to reduce the number of steps to process a problem report.
PR-Tracker allows you to configure the workflow of each project. You may setup the workflow configuration to require as few as 2 steps, or as many as 6 steps to process a problem report. Furthermore, you may change the workflow configuration for a project at any time.
Workflow Setup dialog allows you to specify the number of steps required to process a problem report by selecting workflow options. The workflow steps shown at the bottom of the dialog may not be edited; instead they describe the workflow steps selected by the options above. Following is a description of the workflow options:
(·) Require PRs to be assigned when originated
If this option is selected, all Problem reports must be assigned when they are originated. PR-Tracker will not allow the problem to be saved unless it is assigned. In other words origination and assignment are combined into a single step. The status of all new problems saved under this workflow configuration will be Assigned.
The option takes precedence over users privileges. In other words, when this workflow option is selected all users have assign privilege whether it was given to them in User Setup or not.
(·) Allow PRs to be assigned when originated
If this option is selected, users with assign privilege may assign problem reports when they are originated. If all assignments are made the problem will have status Assigned at the end of the step. Otherwise the status will be New.
(·) Always assign PRs in a separate step
If this option is selected, users are not allowed to assign problem reports when they are originated. The Assign to fields will be disabled for new problems so that data cannot be entered.
[X] Allow work on PRs before assignment
The default operation of PR-Tracker is to require problem reports to be assigned before work may progress in problem reports. If you want to allow work to progress before assignment, check this option.
(·) Require PRs to be Resolved, Verified and Closed in separate steps.
This is part of the default workflow configuration that requires that PRs be resolved, verified and closed in separate steps. This configuration is best for projects that require independent verification and sign-off by management.
(·) Automatically Close PRs when they are Resolved
When this option is in effect, problem reports may be resolved and closed in the same step. Depending on the Prompt user before closing the problem setting, the user may be prompted to close the problem report. If the user agrees, the problem report is closed; otherwise the problem report status will be Resolved and it will have to be verified in order to be closed. This workflow configuration is best for small projects where developers may be verifying the PRs that they fix. At the same time it allows a problem reports to be resolved and verified in separate steps on an individual basis.
(·) Automatically Close PRs when they are Verified
When this option is in effect, problem reports may be verified and closed in the same step. Depending on the Prompt user before closing the problem setting the user may be prompted to close the problem report. If the user agrees, the problem report is closed; otherwise the problem report status will be Resolved and it will have to be verified in order to be closed. This workflow configuration is best for small projects where independent test is required, but not sign-off from management.
[X] Prompt user before closing the problem
This option affects the Automatically Close PRs options. If this option is not selected, PRs are always closed when they are resolved (or verified). The additional optional steps are not available. Note, how the Workflow Steps description changes when this option is toggled.
[X] Allow problem status to be regressed when closing a problem report
When this option is selected, the Status field of problem reports may be modified when a problem report is modified using the Edit | Modify function. Problem report Status may not be advanced; however, it can only be set to an earlier state.
Note:If this option is not selected, the problem report Status field will be disabled so that it cannot be modified.
Bug tracking doesn't have to be complicated | Help | Site Map